Quit Being Your Own Worst Enemy

I am my own worst enemy…in so many areas of my life. Learning to overcome self-defeating talk has been a goal for me this year, and I think I have made progress. I still struggle with it in many places, but I am getting there, especially with my eating habits and workouts. How many times have you said something along the lines of “well I ate 2 cookies, might as well eat 2 more.” Or something like “I ruined this meal, might as well ruin dinner too.” Or “I could never do that exercise.” Those are all self defeating statements and all things I have regularly told myself in the past and still find myself stopping some days. Every minute is a new start. So what if you ate 2 cookies? What does eating 2 more do for you? It only makes you feel worse about the first 2. Statements like these make you your own worst enemy.

Lifting Revolution posted this article today: How To Improve Your Fitness Performance: Discovering My Flaws During Sunset. It really hit home with me. Being stronger, better, more kick ass all starts with the decision to do it. It doesn’t start by me telling myself that I can’t or it doesn’t matter. It starts by setting my mind to doing it and making the resolution that I can and I will meet my fitness goals and nothing anyone says can stop me.

I will admit that I get a secret, ok a not-so-secret, joy out of seeing facebook pictures of certain “pretty” people who knew me when I was fat that now are reaching a less than ideal weight themselves. I was so self conscious about my size for so many years that seeing myself as a thin person now is hard in a lot of ways. I still have the vision of myself as a big girl…just now I’m a big girl in size 6 jeans.  This is another self defeating thought. I have to realize that I really am 2/3 of the person I use to be. I am getting there. Every time I get something out of my closet that falls off my hips or shoulders, I realize that I am not the person I was even just last summer. I am thinner. I am stronger. I am better than I was. I am figuring out that I don’t need anyone else to cheer me on or hold my hand. I can be my own biggest supporter instead of my own worst enemy.

2 thoughts on “Quit Being Your Own Worst Enemy

  1. Ain’t that the truth! I think the most important thing is to like yourself fat, thin, tall, short, warts and all. I am that person who sets a goal, works towards it and then backslides. Mostly, due to my mindset. I have to be happy in my own skin in the here and now and the rest will follow. I really don’t want to get hooked into labeling myself for my body size. Why did it take me 35 years to figure out such a simple concept? There’s so much more to all of us! I’m enjoying your blog!

  2. Thanks! It’s taken me quite a while (and one heck of a year of life events!) to figure this out too. I have always SAID I was happy with what I looked like, but that’s a front. I never wanted to be the fat girl who perpetually complained about her looks. I never wanted anyone’s sympathy for my size. I covered up how I really felt…and then hid it under more food. The biggest secret to changing the outside of me has been changing the inside.

Leave a Reply

