What a Long Strange Trip It’s Been

Disclaimer: I’m not sure what exactly my reasoning is behind this post. Part of me is really ashamed of what you are about to see. Part of me feels like it is way too much bragging. Part of me feels like it is really cathartic. I’m not sure. But it is all part of my journey and something I’ve been sort of mulling on for a while. So, somewhat against my better judgement, here goes nothing.

I keep seeing this motivational image on Pinterest. I’m mildly ashamed to admit that it’s from Koutney Kardashin’s website (but hey, at least I had to use Google Image to determine that).

Source: Kourtney Kardashian (don’t judge)

I feel like I’ve gone in the reverse order. Yes, I’ve lost weight. Yes, I’ve gotten stronger and gained muscles. But, as I’ve said before, I’ve always seen myself as a big girl.  You have to understand that for most of my life, I was a big girl. 

Age 18 maybe (note the irony of the subject matter of my reading material)

 

Then there’s this. This picture is actually in my kitchen right now. It use to hang in my pantry, but for now it’s just sitting on the inside of a cabinet. I have no idea what I weigh in this picture, but it’s probably over 200 pounds. It’s likely the only picture of me close to that heavy. Do you want to know what I notice about myself? My eyes. My face is so bloated that my eyes even look fat.

Age 20

By the time I was preparing to get married in 2004, I was actually starting to look seriously at my weight. I’ve yo-yoed several times between somewhere close to 200 and closer to 140. It didn’t take long for me to go from a decent sized bride (sorry, no wedding pictures, I hope you can understand) to this 2 years later:

Age 23

 

You can see by later pictures that I did get better, but was still always a “bigger” person.

Age 25

Age 26

Fast forward to the current. People keep telling me how different I look. My clothes don’t fit. But when I look in the mirror, I see the girl standing next to Cinderella: above average but not huge and can look ok in appropriately fitting clothes. Like millions of American woman, I have a highly distorted image of my body.

Then I went to the beach this weekend. I snapped a couple of quick pics with my phone thinking maybe I would stick them on facebook. When I looked at them, I almost didn’t recognize myself. The picture on the right is from 2010 (I think) and the picture on the left is from this past week.

2010 (Age 27)/ 2012 (age 29) Yes, its a different (but similar) swim suit

 

Now, it’s not the most flattering picture of me, but the difference is obvious even to me at this point. I have to accept my size. Now I get it. I’m seeing what everyone else saw weeks ago. For the 2nd time in as many weeks someone has commented on my abs. I have abs? Holy crap! I have abs!  

Very old size 14s on underneath brand new size 4s

Size 14 to a size 4. I’ve held on to those shorts “just in case” for several years. I think I might can finally let them go.

6 thoughts on “What a Long Strange Trip It’s Been

  1. Becky I am so very proud of you!! Every single “going to the gym” post, not falling back on old habits when you injured your back, has been pure inspiration to me. I don’t feel you are bragging in the least; It is a huge moment when you can begin to feel the change in your heart, and you should celebrate girl!!

  2. You should be so proud. I know it’s been a hard journey, but look at you now.. You look and I’m sure feel great. Good job, Becky! ❤

  3. Thank you ladies! I surprised myself when I didn’t end up giving up when I’ve hurt myself over the last couple of years. I stress fractured my foot within a month of signing a year long contract at my gym. The old me would have given it up then and there as “it wasn’t meant to be.” But I didn’t. Thankfully that gym had a pool (and I didn’t have a cast). I’m convinced that the reason I was able to not stay in chronic pain from that back injury was because I was in half way decent shape, not as heavy as I used to be, and continued to exercise. Exercise has come to mean a lot to me mentally too.

  4. You have always been an inspiration to me. When we were younger it was for a number of reasons…you’re smart, funny, had cool stuff (carmen san Diego and a pool table to name a couple), you knew how to play madlibs and thought me my parts of speech! Well you are even more an inspiration to me know. I may not tell you (mushy is not my strong point) but it inspires me to see you always being so strong, you always were the stronger of us, you stand calm and firm in circumstances when I know I would have crumbled. You look AMAZING and I’m more than proud of you! I couldn’t get over how awesome you looked the other night! I should tell you more, I vow to do better at this, that you are still my BFF no matter where we are and what we’re up to. The funniest thing about seeing those photos of you on here, is that the older ones shocked me- you never looked like anyone other than Becky, the way you look now, to me. The part that has truly changed is the confidence you now have! The inner beauty shines now like never before! You should be proud. Throw those old clothes in a box and donate them!! Again, you inspire me, I look up to you- always have, and I love you!! Ps. You DO have abs!!!

Leave a Reply

