Public Confessions and Other Commitments

There is something about telling another person your sins that make them real and helps you to move on. That’s why the Catholics like confession I guess. That’s why one of the 12 steps is to admit your wrong doings and make amends whenever possible. Well, I have some confessions to make.

1. I eat WAY too much peanut butter. This is not a new love affair for me. It’s a life long love that only grows stronger. But in the last 3 months, I would venture to say it is really getting to be something I might openly admit to having an addiction to. I love PB so much I named my childhood cat after this my beloved snack food. And my hippie parents never batted an eye. Dad loves the stuff too 😉 Now, lets get something straight. I am a peanut butter snob. I really love natural, fresh ground peanut butter. Nothing but peanuts in my peanut butter please!

2. I really don’t like cooking. I especially don’t like cooking that involves a lot of work. I tend to eat the same things over and over just because they are easy and I know I can make them without setting the kitchen on fire.

3. I REALLY don’t drink enough water. This used to be the easiest thing every for me. I had no trouble getting in 8-10 glasses a day and 12-15 on exercise days. Now I barely get in the 8 on exercise days. I’m not sure what happened, but I have to improve the H2O intake for sure.

This brings me to the public commitment part of today’s programming. I’m here to say that I am committing to drinking 8 glasses of water a day for the next week. I will. I will finish off at least 2 before lunch and at least 2 more before I leave work.

I’ve confessed and committed. Your turn. What do you need to tell the world you’re working on?

5 thoughts on “Public Confessions and Other Commitments

    • It’s funny how things hit us all so differently. I feel sooo much more in control and LESS stressed when I have a list and I can check things off and see what still needs to be done. I am such a list maker. Learning not to be stressed (by whatever it is that does it for you) is a major goal. I’m still working on that one myself.

  1. thats funny because i understand all 3 of these….i am slightly addicted to peanut butter as well…and i eat/cook the same things over n over again b/c its easy and hate messin up the kitchen…and i also drink only water and used to drink tons but lately havent gotten much in and my body feels dehydrated too

    • I go through phases with the cooking where I really think I’m going to go all Julia Child in there and print out new recipes and buy the stuff and then the reality of overwhelmed at not knowing how to execute the steps hits me and then I’m stuck eating peanut butter on Ezekiel Bread for the 400th day in a row. Or yogurt. That really should have gone on the confession list too. I am attempting to make my self lactose tolerant again by drowning in yogurt.

Leave a Reply

